Maths boffins wanted!

by subacati

I've forgotten most of the maths that I learnt in highschool! Now I need help! :faint:. …

Ok, so if you can remember your highschool maths, or even better, if you've done advanced, tertiary level maths, I need your help!
I'm working on a project involving artificial neural networks. Now I'm trying to modify a BASIC program to implimemt a back propagation algorithm.
The problem is, I've forgotten how to interpret maths formulae! :cry:.
To complicate matters, these formulae combine boolean with what appears to be calculus. :left:.
The authors of the source material I'm working with probably assumed that only someone studying at Varsity level (or who already has a degree) world bother to try to follow what they'd written. :p.
Anyway, here are the two formulae!

and

Now to expain! What I need to do, is convert these two formulae into BASIC programming statements.
in the first formula, Ok is represented in my BASIC program by S3%(K) and tk is represented by S1%(K)

I'll probably use S0%(K) for
Now S1%(K) and S3%(K) each hold a value of either 'true' or 'false'. Although these value are normally represented in binary as either 1 or 0 respectively, in the program I have, 'false' is represented by a negative number.

In the second equation, represents "the sum of the weights". My main problem here is, I don't know where h comes from? :confused:.

Any help would be appreciated! :up:.
Thanks!

