Brains vs Brawn

by subacati

Today I present for your enjoyment both a question and the answer.
How shall the strengh of a man be judged. …

I'm sitting here at work in the wee hours and tapping out my first genuine blog post.

I arrived at work last night for the graveyard shift at around 23h30 as usual, signed my equipment and proceeded to the access control gate as this is where I'm posted.
:knight:
There are two sets of gates, one set is an electric boom gate and the other is a manual sliding gate and this is where the story begins.

The sliding gate is left open most of the time.
However, it must be closed during second watch and that was going to be a problem tonight as someone on a previous shift had very kindly opened it to exactly two thirds open. :irked:

You see, the guide rail has bent under the weight over time and at this position the front roller is lifted slightly of the ground.

:(no matter how hard I tried, I could not budge the half ton gate. :confused:i

i:idea:So I made another plan.
Luckily, there is a nice gumpole lying around nearby.
😀 So I used this as a lever to dislodge the stuck gate and alhamdulilla, the gate moved.
:wizard:

The moral of the story?

If you have all day and nothing better to do, use brute force.

But if you need the problem solved in a hurry, use elementary science and a little lateral thinking. :wizard::yes:

P.S: I'd have liked to have posted a photo of the gate, however, as it is a government site It would be illegal for of to do so without a writ of authorisation. :left:
i

i…..@_@
(")(^Δ^)
(")(")(,,)
:bye:

